My team and I tested 60+ VPNs to find the best ones for Russia (that actually work). These VPNs can access international platforms and social media sites while keeping your data private. Out of all the VPNs I tested, ExpressVPN is the top choice for Russia. It has superfast speeds, along with industry-leading privacy and security features. Plus, its impressive unblocking capabilities let you safely access your favorite websites from in and outside of Russia. You can try ExpressVPN completely risk-free as it’s backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee. If it’s not for you, it’s easy to get a refund. Try ExpressVPN Now Important! While VPNs are legal in Russia, you could get into trouble if you’re using one to access websites that the Russian government has blocked. Please inform yourself of the most recent rules and restrictions in Russia to avoid accidentally getting into trouble.

Best VPNs for Russia – Full Analysis (Updated in 2023)

1. ExpressVPN — Overall Best VPN for Secure Browsing in Russia

ExpressVPN offers an impressive server network to unblock your favorite sites in Russia. All of its servers use advanced obfuscation technology to bypass firewalls and VPN blocks even on the most restrictive networks. It does this by scrambling your encrypted VPN traffic to make it look like regular traffic. As long as you use the automatic protocol selection feature, obfuscation will work in the background, allowing you to access sites like Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter without issues. This VPN is highly regarded as one of the best VPNs for security and privacy. It led the way with its RAM-based TrustedServer technology, which wipes all data from its servers every time they restart (rather than manual resets needed with most VPNs). Its no-logs policy has been verified by a top security company. It was further proven when Turkish authorities seized one of its servers and found nothing on it. Simply put, ExpressVPN doesn’t store your data, so it can’t share it, even if Russian authorities asked for it. It comes with the strongest encryption technology available (AES 256-bit with perfect forward secrecy), rock-solid leak protection, and its kill switch (which it calls Network Lock), so your online movements are essentially untraceable. Network Lock is your last line of defense — it’ll cut off your internet if the VPN malfunctions for some reason, preventing accidental exposure. Just to make sure it actually works, I performed tests by switching from the New York to the London server while watching Instagram reels — nothing would load until the VPN re-established a safe connection. It has ultra-fast speeds to let you browse, stream, and torrent in Russia without interruptions. While testing its nearby Kazakhstan server, I got a download speed of 60 Mbps. On long-distance New York and Miami servers, the average speed hovered at around 57 Mbps. This let me watch Stranger Things on Netflix US in HD with zero buffering. Plus, each episode loaded in under 2 seconds. You can choose between 4 security protocols: OpenVPN, IKEv2, L2TP/IPSec, and ExpressVPN’s unique Lightway. During my tests, Lightway outperformed other VPN protocols in terms of speeds and connection times. I found it to be 15% faster than OpenVPN, and it never took me more than 2 seconds to connect. You can use split tunneling to improve performance further by only selecting the apps you want to run through the VPN, leaving the rest on your regular connection. ExpressVPN doesn’t have servers in Russia, but I don’t see this as a negative. While you might not be able to access some of your Russian accounts from abroad, it’s safer for the company to keep its servers out of countries like Russia which have seized VPN servers in the past. Plus, many Russian sites are not geo-restricted, so a lot will work just fine. If you’re in Russia, I recommend using the “Smart Location” feature, which will automatically connect you to the best server based on your location. It’s also a bit more expensive than other VPNs — the cheapest plan starts at $6.67/month. However, ExpressVPN offers generous discounts throughout the year. When I signed up for its yearly plan, I got 49% off my subscription and 3 months of free service. All the plans come with the same features, so it’s better to go with a long-term option as it will save you the most money. It also accepts many payment methods that work in Russia including Qiwi and several cryptocurrencies. You can try ExpressVPN completely risk-free since it’s backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee. If it’s not for you, it’s easy to get a refund. After using the service for a while, I reached out to support using the 24/7 live chat feature and asked for a refund. The chat agent asked 3 quick customer satisfaction-related questions and approved my request right away. I had my money back in 2 days. Try ExpressVPN Today

2. CyberGhost — Streaming-Optimized Servers to Unblock Your Favorite Platforms From Russia

CyberGhost offers specialty servers to let you access your favorite streaming platform with ease. During my tests, I connected to its Netflix US-optimized server and got instant access to the platform. Its virtual Russian server also worked well with popular streaming services, like Ivi, Okko, and Kinopoisk. Speeds are fast, too. When I tested its Russian location (there are 100+ Russian IPs available), the download speeds never dropped below 45 Mbps. On its Poland and French servers, the speeds averaged at around 44 Mbps. These speeds are more than enough for streaming, gaming, and torrenting. I was able to download Gulliver’s Travels (893 MB) from The Pirate Bay in less than 4 minutes. This means that you can enjoy your favorite activities without slowdowns. Its top-of-the-line security features ensure that your data is well protected in Russia. It comes with AES 256-bit military-grade encryption to prevent hackers and snoopers from intercepting your data. It also offers an automatic kill switch and leak protection. I tested this on ipleak.net and didn’t find a single leak. What’s more, the VPN offers NoSpy servers. These are located in CyberGhost’s own private data center in Romania and offer added security. On top of being headquartered in privacy-friendly Romania, CyberGhost also has a strict no-logs policy. The policy was put to the test when a company (Typeform) that CyberGhost works with suffered a data breach. However, no sensitive information was stolen because the VPN doesn’t keep logs. On the downside, its long-distance connections aren’t as fast as ExpressVPN. When I connected to its Los Angeles server, the download speed dropped to 36 Mbps. However, it was still more than enough to stream in HD. Subscriptions are affordable — you can sign up for as low as $2.11/month with its long-term plan (and it accepts Bitcoin, Unionpay, and Qiwi). Short-term plans offering the same features are also available, but they come at a higher price. You can try all of CyberGhost’s features completely risk-free since it’s by a 45-day money-back guarantee. If you’re not impressed, you can get a full refund. To test this, I contacted support via 24/7 live chat. The agent asked why I wanted to cancel and approved my request without further questions. I saw the money in my account after 3 days. Try CyberGhost Today

3. Private Internet Access — MACE Ad Blocker for Smooth Browsing in Russia

PIA comes with a unique feature called MACE that blocks ads, malware, and trackers. I tested this by visiting an ad-heavy website (Huffpost) on my Windows computer, and it blocked all the ads on the page. It also worked well with The Moscow Times — I didn’t see a single ad on the website after enabling this feature. All this ensures a seamless browsing experience in Russia. The security is top-notch to safeguard your digital identity in Russia. In addition to military-grade encryption and a kill switch, it offers a SOCKS5 multi-hop and an obfuscation feature through the Shadowsocks proxy. This adds an extra layer of security since your traffic is routed through a VPN server and a proxy as opposed to just the server. With PIA’s massive server network, you can easily access your favorite sites in Russia. During my tests, its US East Streaming server unblocked all the sites that I tried, including Hulu, Disney+, and Netflix US. Plus, its fast speeds will let you enjoy high-bandwidth activities without delay. I tried its 6 US locations and found an average speed of 35 Mbps. Since this is 7 times what you need for HD streaming, I could watch YouTube videos in full HD without any buffering. It doesn’t offer any servers in Russia, but there are ones nearby in Kazakhstan, Mongolia, and Ukraine. Another downside I found with PIA is that it’s not the most user-friendly app since there are so many customization options. However, it comes pre-configured, so you don’t have to worry about configuring it if you don’t want to. You can sign up for PIA for as low as $2.03/month with its long-term plan. Short-term plans are a bit more expensive but do not offer any additional features. So, I recommend yearly plans for better value, which you can purchase with Qiwi. In addition, all PIA plans come with a 30-day money-back guarantee. If you’re not happy, you can claim a full refund. To make sure PIA stands by its guarantee, I requested a refund using its 24/7 live chat feature. The agent did try to get me to stay, but quickly approved my request after I said no. The money was back in my account in 4 days. Try PIA Today

4. NordVPN — Advanced Security Features for Top Protection in and Outside Russia

NordVPN’s specialized security servers protect your data while keeping up to date with current events on sites like Voice of America and BBC News. Your online activities are hidden from prying eyes by sending your traffic through two VPN servers — encrypting your data twice. To use the Double VPN feature, navigate to ‘Settings’, click ‘Connection’, and tap on the drop-down arrow under ‘Auto-connect’. Under ‘Custom’, select ‘Double VPN’. Under these same settings, you can also activate its obfuscation servers to get around internet restrictions by evading Deep Packet Inspection (DPI) and firewalls. While I was testing it out, I was able to access Russia1, and Okko without issues. Onion over VPN is another advanced security feature to increase your privacy when visiting Russia. It combines the advantages of Tor (providing multiple layers of encryption) with the added security of a VPN tunnel. Like CyberGhost and ExpressVPN, NordVPN is based in a country outside the data-sharing pact of the 5/9/14 Eyes Alliances. Plus, its strict no-logs policy means it won’t store or share any of your identifiable data. Thanks to RAM-only servers, all your personal information gets erased each time the server is turned off or rebooted. Even with so many advanced features, NordVPN is pretty easy to use. The power button lets you secure your devices with one click. I also like that its ‘Quick Connect’ feature will automatically find and connect you to the fastest server available. While it doesn’t have servers in Russia, its nearby servers in South Korea and Japan gave me impressive speeds. My only complaint with NordVPN is that its Windows app took a few seconds to open. But once it loaded, changing settings and connecting to a server was almost immediate. It comes with 3 plans: Standard, Plus, and Complete. As the name suggests, the Complete package includes all features, plus some additional extras (like Cloud storage) but costs more. You can get its full suite of specialized servers on a Standard long-term plan for just $3.29/month. You can try NordVPN free with its 30-day money-back guarantee. I tested it out to ensure it was trustworthy, and my cancelation was approved in a day. After 4 days, my money was returned to my bank account. Try NordVPN Today

5. Surfshark — Consistently Fast VPN to Enjoy International Content from Russia

Surfshark’s speed has consistently proven great for streaming, torrenting, and gaming. I got the best speeds (averaging around 33.7 Mbbs) using the WireGuard protocol and the ‘Fastest location’ feature, which in most cases, connected me to a server in Mongolia or Kazakhstan. During my tests, I could play Lost Ark from Russia without lag. Even when using multiple devices simultaneously (you can have an Unlimited number of connections), I didn’t notice any delays. Thanks to the VPN’s advanced security features, all your devices are well-protected. Its high-level encryption keeps your data safe from hackers. While its automatic kill switch and leak protection keep your connection secure by preventing accidental data exposure. I also like its built-in ad, malware, and tracker blocker CleanWeb — which recently upgraded to block those annoying Cookie consent pop-ups. On top of its worldwide network, its obfuscation technology (Camouflage mode) can help you unblock social media sites, news, and more. This is enabled automatically as long as you’re using the OpenVPN protocol (UDP or TCP). I also turned on the NoBorders mode in the VPN Settings tab to receive a selected list of the best servers to bypass geoblocks. Even though Surfshark is headquartered in the Netherlands (part of the 9 Eyes Alliance), I’m confident my data is in good hands. It follows a strict no-logs policy, and its entire infrastructure uses 100% RAM-only servers. Plus, you can improve your anonymity using its MultiHop feature to send traffic through two VPN servers in different countries. It’s one of the most affordable VPNs I tested, with a long-term plan costing only $2.30/month. You can pay with crypto, so it’s accessible even with Russia’s current financial restrictions. I recommend the longest plan as it has the same features as the slightly more expensive short-term options. Its 30-day money-back guarantee lets you try Surfshark before committing to a subscription. I got my money back easily using its 24/7 live chat. All I had to do was provide a few details about my experience with the app. The money reached my PayPal account that same week. Try Surfshark Today

6. PrivateVPN — Stealth VPN to Bypass VPN Blocks in Russia and Abroad

PrivateVPN’s Stealth Mode is designed to bypass VPN blocks and firewalls, so you can access global content from Russia or anywhere. You can enable this within the app’s settings. To see how reliable it is, I tested it on a local cafe’s WiFi connection that won’t let me access torrent sites. After I enabled this feature, all the sites that I tried to access loaded quickly without any issues. It’s one of the very few VPNs that offers servers in Russia. This allows you to safely access your Russian bank account or region-locked sites when you’re traveling abroad. Its Moscow server worked well with local streaming platforms, like Kinopoisk and Rus-TV. And I could connect in just 5 seconds. However, its Krasnoyarsk server took a bit longer (over 15 seconds) to connect. Despite its smaller server network (200 servers in 63 countries), I had fast download speeds. I tested its Ukrainian, Latvian, and Moscow server, and the speeds never dropped below 32 Mbps. The long-distance Perth server gave me 28 Mbps. With these speeds, you can watch content in HD and even 4K. I watched 2 episodes of Stateless in HD on Netflix AU and there was no buffering during the stream. I was a bit concerned to find out that PrivateVPN is based in Sweden, which is a part of the 14-Eyes alliance. However, it has a strict no-logs policy, so your data will never be stored or shared with anyone. Subscriptions are very affordable starting at $2/month. I found its 3-year plan to be the best value. PrivateVPN also accepts Unionpay and Bitcoin, so you won’t have trouble purchasing it in Russia. Monthly plans are also reasonably priced, but they are a bit pricier per month. The plans include a 30-day money-back guarantee, so you can try PrivateVPN totally risk-free. Refunds are only processed through email, but I found it to be pretty straightforward. I sent them an email explaining why I don’t need the VPN anymore and received a response within a few hours. The team approved my request with no questions asked. I got my money back in 6 days. Try PrivateVPN Today

7. Proton VPN — Intuitive Apps to Secure Your Connection in Russia

Proton VPN offers an intuitive interface, making it an excellent choice for VPN beginners. The Quick Connect feature automatically picks the best server location. I loved that it also allows you to create custom profiles — you can choose the VPN protocol and the server location based on the activity you want to perform. I set up a profile for Disney+ during my tests, so every time I want to access it I’m connected to WireGuard and the fastest US server available. To maintain your privacy online in Russia, Proton VPN offers exceptional security measures, such as military-grade encryption, IP/DNS leak protection, and an automatic kill switch. Additionally, the Secure Core servers further enhance your security by routing your traffic through several servers. While the Secure Core servers are best for ensuring privacy in Russia, it does slow down your speeds. Its St. Petersburg Secure Core server gave me 30 Mbps while the average speed on San Jose and Phoenix servers was 26 Mbps. Not great, but these speeds are suitable for streaming in HD and torrenting. I binge-watched Lost in Space on Netflix US in HD. There was zero lag, and the speeds were consistent throughout the stream. Proton VPN has one of the best free versions of any premium VPN. It comes with unlimited bandwidth (which is rare), but it limits you to 3 locations (JP, NL, US), which reduces your speeds and unblocking abilities. It doesn’t work well for streaming and you don’t get access to special features like the NetShield ad blocker, torrenting, or Secure Core servers. I recommend trying its paid plan, which starts at $4.99/month, because you get tons of features, like faster speeds, more servers, and streaming support. Unionpay and Bitcoin are accepted. You can test Proton VPN risk-free for 30 days as it comes with a reliable money-back guarantee. Unlike ExpressVPN and other top providers, you only get a refund for the days left within the guarantee period. You also have to request a refund through email because there’s no 24/7 live chat. I tested the policy, and it took 9 days to get my money back. Try Proton VPN Today

Quick Comparison Table: Best VPNs for Russia

The table below compares the essential features of my recommended VPNs. You can see each VPN’s lowest monthly price, number of allowed connections, and whether or not it offers servers in Russia. Having Russian servers means that you can access local content when you’re traveling abroad. In addition, I’ve also included whether the VPN is headquartered outside of the 14-Eyes jurisdiction. This ensures that the VPN is not obligated to share user data with government agencies. Try ExpressVPN Risk-Free Today

Tips on How to Choose the Best VPN for Russia

I used the following metrics to rank my top picks. You can use the same criteria when choosing the best VPN for Russia.

Works in Russia — Many VPN websites have been blocked in the country, but not the services themselves. In addition, many VPNs have discontinued their service there because they won’t adhere to the Kremlin’s demands. All the VPNs on this list are still working in Russia. Some even use advanced obfuscation technology to avoid being detected. Servers in or near Russia — This will help you access Russian content when you’re traveling abroad and allow you to get the fastest speeds possible. I made sure to shortlist at least a few VPNs that have servers in Russia. Plus, all VPNs on this list have servers in nearby locations, like Romania, Poland, or Latvia. Strong security — Your VPN should have strong security features to protect your privacy in Russia and abroad. I thoroughly tested each VPN on this list to ensure that they have essential features, like an automatic kill switch, military-grade encryption, and leak protection. A strict no-logs policy — Pick a VPN that has a strict no-logs policy to protect your online identity in Russia. No VPN on this list stores identifiable info, like connection timestamps and browsing history. Good unblocking abilities — Choose a VPN that works well with streaming platforms and social media sites. All the VPNs on this list have good unblocking capabilities. They work well with Facebook, Twitter, and popular streaming services. Fast speeds — I checked average speeds of each VPN using an online speed test tool and found a minimum of at least 25 Mbps. This is more than enough even for high-bandwidth activities, like streaming and torrenting. Reliable support — Look for a VPN that offers reliable support over 24/7 live chat, email, and contact form. Live chat is preferred because it’s the fastest — you can get answers to your questions immediately. I made sure that each VPN on this list offers responsive support in some way. Vast compatibility — If the VPN doesn’t offer an app for your device, it won’t help you. All the VPNs on this list have apps for all major operating systems and allow multiple device connections at once.

Which VPN has Russian servers? Will this give me a Russian IP?

During my tests, I found 3 safe VPNs that have servers in Russia (and all of these will give you a Russian IP address). However, CyberGhost is my top recommendation because it was the fastest of the bunch. Moreover, it has virtual Russian servers that are located in a secure location and not within the country. This means that you don’t have to worry about a server being confiscated by the Russian government. Many premium VPNs do not offer server locations in Russia. This is in response to Roskomnadzor’s latest call for the most popular VPNs to comply with Russian laws, including handing over user data. Nearly every one of the top VPNs has refused to comply with these demands, leading many to shut down their Russian servers and pull out of the country entirely. Some of the smaller VPNs haven’t been approached by Roskomnadzor yet, so they still have Russian servers that you can use.

Yes, but there’s more to it. Using a VPN in Russia is legal, but accessing officially blocked content with one can be a bit of a gray area. For example, there are no specific laws that prohibit Facebook use. However, you can be punished for spreading “fake news,” which is up to the government’s interpretation. We don’t condone illegal activities, so please stay up-to-date on the country’s local laws to ensure that you don’t get in trouble by accident.

Can you download a VPN in Russia?

You can, but many VPN websites are blocked in Russia. All the VPNs on this list can be downloaded from their sites in Russia at the time of this writing. However, be aware that this could change. If the download link doesn’t work, you can ask the provider for an alternate URL. Alternatively, you can use the Tor browser. It routes your traffic through multiple nodes and hides your IP address, letting you access blocked URLs. This way, you can download VPNs straight from the provider’s website. If you can’t access the Tor download page in Russia, you can use Brave browser to connect through the Tor network to access sites that aren’t working as well.

What websites and apps have been banned in Russia?

Russia has banned many websites and apps, including Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. However, you can easily access them with the help of a VPN. It has also banned hundreds of news websites, mainly Ukrainian ones, as well as independent Russian media. Sites like BBC News and Google News are also inaccessible in the country. Even worse, Russia is among the world’s worst surveillance states. ISPs are required to store user data for up to 1 year. And the government doesn’t even need a court order to access your data. So, your online activity is never safe. That’s why it’s extremely important to use a VPN in Russia.

Can I use a free VPN for Russia?

You can, but it’s not recommended. It’s better to use a low-cost premium VPN that has strong security features and a strict no-logs policy. These are things most free VPNs just can’t offer. Many free VPNs collect and share your data with third parties. In addition, they lack important security features, like leak protection and a kill switch. All this can put your privacy at risk. Some premium VPNs like Proton VPN offer free versions as well, but it’s severely restricted. You get slower speeds, limited server networks, and sometimes limited data. Try ExpressVPN Risk-Free

Get the Best VPN for Russia

The Russian government has tried to prevent its citizens from using VPNs in various ways, so finding a VPN that works in the country isn’t easy. However, I’ve shortlisted a few top VPNs that are safe and still work in Russia. Of these, ExpressVPN is my favorite. It has top-notch security features, superfast speeds, and a massive server network to help you access social media, news, and other blocked sites while keeping your data safe. You can try ExpressVPN risk-free as it’s backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee. If you don’t like it, you can get a full refund.

To summarize, the best VPNs for Russia in March 2023 are…

The information above can be used to track you, target you for ads, and monitor what you do online.

         VPNs can help you hide this information from websites so that you are protected at all times. We recommend ExpressVPN — the #1 VPN out of over 350 providers we've tested. It has military-grade encryption and privacy features that will ensure your digital security, plus — it's currently offering 49% off.        
          Visit ExpressVPN         

7 Best VPNs for Russia That Work in 2023 and Are Safe to Use - 977 Best VPNs for Russia That Work in 2023 and Are Safe to Use - 67 Best VPNs for Russia That Work in 2023 and Are Safe to Use - 317 Best VPNs for Russia That Work in 2023 and Are Safe to Use - 57 Best VPNs for Russia That Work in 2023 and Are Safe to Use - 757 Best VPNs for Russia That Work in 2023 and Are Safe to Use - 287 Best VPNs for Russia That Work in 2023 and Are Safe to Use - 727 Best VPNs for Russia That Work in 2023 and Are Safe to Use - 807 Best VPNs for Russia That Work in 2023 and Are Safe to Use - 447 Best VPNs for Russia That Work in 2023 and Are Safe to Use - 44